ASCOBANS Lifetime Award

In 2009, the United Kingdom proposed the creation of a new award category: the ASCOBANS Lifetime Award, in addition to the Outreach and Education Award first given in 2005.

The Meeting of Parties unanimously endorsed the proposal to launch an ‘ASCOBANS life-time award for outstanding contribution to marine mammal conservation’. This award is to be made occasionally to individuals who through their careers have made such a contribution and where this includes making a contribution to the work of ASCOBANS.  



  • 2009: Peter Reijnders, Netherlands
  • 2013: Karl-Hermann Kock, Germany


Last updated on 10 February 2017
CMS Instrument: