10 Sept 2008: Humpback visitor leaves Baltic Sea for Atlantic Ocean

The humpback whale spotted off the coast of Rügen in late July has made his way out of the Baltic Sea and back into the news rooms.

10 September 2008

14 June 2008: UK Dolphin Strandings - Statement by the joint UNEP/CMS/ASCOBANS Secretariat

The joint CMS/ASCOBANS Secretariat is closely following the recent standings incident in south-west Britain, in which 26 common dolphins lost their lives and which has attracted considerable intern

15 June 2008

18 May 2008 UPDATE: 6th International Day of the Baltic Harbour Porpoise

This year, the International Day of the Baltic Harbour Porpoise coincides with International Museum Day, which will occur on 18 May 2008.

20 May 2008

18 May 2008: The 6th International Day of the Baltic Harbour Porpoise

The CMS/ASCOBANS Secretariat is pleased to announce that an updated and revised version of the IDBHP Handbook is available for download from the

19 May 2008

31 March - 3 April 2008 UPDATE: 39 Delegates came to Bonn for AC 15

The ASCOBANS Advisory Committee held its 15th meeting from 31 March - 3 April 2008 at the Secretariat's premises, the historical high-rise building Langer Eugen in the city of Bonn, Germany.

05 April 2008

4 March 2008: Year of the Dolphin News - Dolphin Manual Published in Portuguese

At a meeting today at the UN Campus in Bonn, Germany, the plans for the Year of the Dolphin campaign in 2008 were discussed by representatives of CMS, ACCOBAMS, ASCOBANS, WDCS and TUI.

04 March 2008

25-27 February 2008: 4th Meeting of the Jastarnia Group, Kolmården, Sweden

At the end of February 2008, the Jastarnia Group, a group of experts from the environment and fisheries sectors of the countries surrounding the Baltic Sea, will meet for the fourth time to discuss

24 February 2008

3 February 2008: Extension of ASCOBANS Agreement Area Comes Into Force

We have good news and certainly reason to celebrate! The extension of the ASCOBANS Agreement Area, agreed on by Parties at MoP4 in 2003, will enter into force on 3 February 2008.

03 February 2008